RSS

Michelle, the Greatest?

26 Aug

 

I must place a disclaimer on this. I am not a hater…that much…anymore…

If you want to know what people are thinking just check facebook statuses. Last night the general consensuses was Michelle Obama was the greatest Black woman to ever breathe, every girl wanted to be her and every boy wanted to be her husband. I received text messages “Did you see Michelle’s speech”. Um no, I planned to. I really did. I turn on the television and all the pre-speech hype was getting annoying and not helping my already pissy moved. I just wanted to hear the woman speak and not commentators talking about what she might say. I turned off the television.

Sidebar: Did anyone see how BET covered the speech with Cousin Jeff, trying to pretend that it was a legitimate news channel?

Anyway, thanks to the wonders of On Demand by Comcast I got to watch the speech today. This is of course after the speech was hyped up by the commentators and my facebook groupies (friends) to be the greatest speech ever. I mean people claimed they cried over this thing.

The speech begins with her being introduced by her older brother, who shares those eerie sleepy eyes of hers that freak me out. He goes on to give cute childhood stories and how their family is the American Dream. Whatever, not impressed.

Michelle enters to give her speech to some great music. Her dress is fitting her well, showing her great shoulders. Her hair look phenomenal, someone actually convinced her to throw some perm on those edges. Even I can’t say anything negative about her appearance. Her speech was good, I guess. She got her point across, she doesn’t hate America, she loves Barrack, she is the American dream, she struggled, they are just like middle-America, and you should elect her husband. I guess her antidotes were cute and moving. I actually kind of feel bad I wasn’t moved by her speech like the rest of black America. Every radio station was biging her up like she was some black female savior.

“And as I tuck that little girl and her little sister into bed at night, I think about how one day, they’ll have families of their own. And one day, they – and your sons and daughters – will tell their own children about what we did together in this election. They’ll tell them how this time, we listened to our hopes, instead of our fears. How this time, we decided to stop doubting and to start dreaming.”

I swear she was talking to people like me when she said that. Because I am not sure how I feel about this hope thing. I am so afraid of Blacks and Americans putting so much hope in these people and being let down. They can’t possible live up to the hype around them. At the end of the day, they are politicians trying to get elected. I got caught up in “greatness” of Obama speech after the Rev. Wright controversy; he could no more disown Rev. Wright as he could the black community. Well he did, when the going got tough. I wish I could stop doubting and believing but it’s going to take more than a cute couple and two cute little girls to make me believe in this change. Sorry, I am not yet a believer. At the same time, I am so protective of them; I talk so much crap about them. I am the first to critique them, but don’t let Fox News, or anyone else talk about how unpatriotic and un-American she is, I am ready to fight. At the end of the day she is my sister and he is my brother. I can talk about them, but don’t anyone outside of the family try them.

I guess we shall see if this change is really possible.

Last thing is it just me or does it look like Michelle has tobacco or something in her mouth whenever she speaks.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2008 in politics, Them Black people

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Michelle, the Greatest?

  1. JG*

    August 26, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I agree that the amount of “hope” put on Barack is unattainable, but I mean I feel that no matter what size of a politician he is, he cares more about this country than any other candidate. He cares more about people who are just like him (middle america) and who were just like him growing up (the poor), than any other candidate. So to me he’ll do more than they would, even if it’s just a little. That’s all that matters to me.

     
  2. Hubert

    August 28, 2008 at 1:03 am

    I was, and still am, a Hilary Clinton fan during the initial primary, but now I can say that my vote goes to Obama. There is ABSOLUTELY no way he, nor any president, can live up to all the high expectations and ‘hype’ built around him, but if he sets a good foundation there are amazing things that he and his successors could accomplish in their tenures.

    As far as Michelle goes, I think she IS the swaying vote for a lot of people. Not everyone takes the time out to actually read Obama’s platform, like some of us, to see if he really is the man for them. They simply rely on the media’s coverage, and with so much controversy it could be hard to discern between certain types of information. Michelle provides that balance within the media that shines an even brighter light on Obama, something McCain’s camp lacks. And if my mom likes her, I like her too!

     
  3. kris10

    September 1, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    stop being a hater tab.
    they are FAB and you know it!
    -your sister-wife

     
  4. w. d. lilly

    September 3, 2008 at 2:30 am

    well . . . i didn’t watch either speech . . . no . . . i watched like 3 minutes of michelle’s speech (after the fact) . . . and like 5 minutes of obama’s specch (again, after the fact) . . . i’m not up for speeches anymore . . . i gave that up a while ago when my disappointment with american politics and politicing . . . i am an “obama, just because” supporter . . . i don’t know what his politics are nor what he hopes to bring . . . but . . . whatever it is . . . i think i believe it . . . or at least racial solidarity causes me to go along with him . . . but michelle on the other hand . . . i like . . . i really like . . . have you read any of her undergraduate thesis completed at Princeton . . . it’s powerful . . . probably more powerful than the speech that i didn’t listen to . . . anyway . . . this post was very mature-like . . . i proud of you a bit . . . i didn’t know that you had it in you . . . you might have what it takes to move people one day . . . keep at it . . .

     

Leave a Reply

 
