RSS

Happy Birthday Oprah!!!

30 Jan

So if you didn’t know, I LOVE me some Oprah. Today is her 56th birthday. I decided to share a poem I wrote on her 53rd birthday…

Oprah Gail Winfrey

53 years ago today
An angel was born
As her parents look down, they didn’t know the genius that lay
The girl who will one day capture my heart as well as the world
The little black girl from Kosciusko, Mississippi,
A state riddle with racism and oppression, a state with the blood of blacks drenching the soil
Would rise to become the first Black female billionaire
Overcome rape, teenage pregnancy, and a slight weight problem.
The world celebrates with you as reach another year older
We watch anxiously to see how you will continue to astonish us.
To me you’re Oppie
To the world you are Oprah
Happy Birthday, my beautiful, talented friend.

🙂

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment