RSS

I lost my berry…

06 Jun

Everything can be replaced except life. As long as I am living- life is great. This morning when I arrived at Casa Jackson I discovered I left my cell phone in the back of a tok tok, those fake taxi things. It’s not just any phone- it is a Blackberry Bold 9700. It is sleek, sexy and sophisticated, like me. My heart started to race, thinking and hoping I left it in my room. I never bring my phone out normally, but I needed to be back in the hotel by 1pm to catch my shuttle from Antigua and I wanted to have a way to tell the time.

I left Casa Jackson and walked back to my hotel. Not a good idea because of the muggings on the road and the fact I had no clue where I was going. Eventually after a 25 minute walk on the outskirts of town I made it back to my room. My blackberry was not there. I am never too worry about my safety- I think with my black skin, short hair and the way I walk in combat boots I am not an easy target. Most people would just go for the blond girl in a little dress walking alone- trust me there are plenty of those around here.

My response was that of any 23 year old woman- I need my mommy! I called my mom around 8 times, no response. I didn’t call my dad, because it is Sunday and I figured he was talking about God to someone. I called the church and told the secretary “I need my mom, now.” The next voice I heard was Reverend Doctor Daddy. I had been relatively cool up until this point something about hearing either one of my parents voice has the ability to break down my toughness. I then begin to cry while trying to tell my father what was wrong. He asked me what could he do to help me, did I want them to get me a new phone and he also prayed for me before handing the phone to my mom. It is surprising how much relief that a pray from my earthly father can provide. Me and my mother discussed how to cancel my phone and whether or not to send me my old Curve (which I thought about bringing). I hung up with them and I am tough again. What done is done, time to move on.

Of all things I could lose in Guatemala- my camera, laptop, money- some how my uninsured Blackberry is at the top of the list of things I didn’t want to lose.

I am good now. Blackberryless, but good. Alone in a foreign country but I am safe. I am pretty and I am still Blessed.

My Blackberry Bold, Isis and I in happier times…sigh.

~Just Tab

 
 

3 responses to “I lost my berry…

  1. Atira Kei

    June 6, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Tab…you are pure comedy

     
  2. Mom

    June 6, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Hi Boo,

    As you know life goes on and things can be replace. Even those things makes us disappointed when we misplaced them or when they are taken. But, I’m glad you are able to shake it off and sister Prince wants your email I will give it to her. You are in our prayers. You are great writer with a great sense of humor. Love you so much!!!

    Take Care. I deactivated your phone and with one call I can activate it back if your phone is found.You can call the cab company if you choose.

    Love Mommy

     
  3. Niqua

    June 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    OMGeee Tab it is the simply things that can turn our day around and upside down. Even though I don’t currently own a Blackberry I completely understand how it can become a necessity to the frivolous things that occur in our lives. Don’t worry hun, as soon as you come home it can be replaced. Thank God you were safe walking around the town by yourself. Love you hun, Stay safe and have fun.
    Niqua

     

Leave a Reply

 
