RSS

One way.

21 Jun

My mother dropped me off at the Ft. Lauderdale airport on Sunday morning. We were running a bit late due to a couple last minute stops, but I was still on track to check-in. I had about 15 minutes until the90 minute cut off for international flights. As I approach the area to check-in a man approached me

Man: Where are you flying today?

Me: Guatemala.

Man: Oh ok, You are flying roundtrip to Guatamala?

Me: No, one-way.

Man: Do you live in Guatemala?

Me: No.

Man: Are you a US citizen.

Me: Yes.

Man: Guatemala does not allow non-residents to fly one-way to their country without proof of a departure.

Me: But I am leaving Guatemala, on a bus in like 5 days. I promise.

Man: You need a proof, a ticket. You can not fly on a one-way ticket with us today, mam. You need to buy another ticket with us or another airline.

At this point I was thinking the why did they allow me to buy a one way ticket, when I couldn’t fly on a one-way ticket. I was on the phone with the airline that morning, no one said anything about my one-way ticket. As the cut off time approached I figured I had to act fast. As the man pointed me in the direction to buy another ticket I called the airline to check the price, since there is no internet in this airport to check flights on other airlines. My plan was to buy my ticket home later. I have commitment issues and I did not want to commit to a date to come back. What if I ran out of money? Or was bored with traveling? Or wanted to spend more time in El Salvador or Honduras? Or I fell in love with a Honduran hunk and decided I was never coming back? I wanted the flexibility to leave when I wanted to. That is no longer a possibility- I must make it to Nicaragua by July 17th to fly home. Anyway lesson learn, you can’t buy one-way tickets internationally. They will think you are never going home or some sort of terrorist.

I landed in Guatemala City, Guatemala took a cab to the bus station and rode 5 hours to Tactic, Guatemala. Coincidently my 15min cab ride cost more than my 5 hour bus ticket. I am staying with Nabila, my former Spanish teacher who is no longer a Spanish teacher. When I arrived we went to someone’s baby shower. Where after I told Nabila I saw my husband (her brother Sebastion) she pointed me in the direction of Sebastien’s wife. Apparently, he met, married and impregnanted a woman named Lili in the last year. She was very nice as I explained to her I was his first wife and she was number two.

So far I have just been hanging out with Nabila’s family. Since Nabila works in Coban during the day I am usually with her parents, Lili, her nephew David and her daughter Anayti. Her mother was in Arizona last time I was here, so it was nice to finally see her. Her mother is trying to convince me to go walking with her at 6:30 in the morning. I think I prefer my sleep. I am spending a lot of time playing games, kids tend to remember the adults who play kids games. I am pretty sure they think I am 9. Anayti (Nabila’s daughter) really like the High School Musical Doll I brought her, the power of Disney works in every country. Oh and my Spanish kind of sucks. I am working on it. I understand about 60-70% of what they say. When I don’t understand I just nod my head and say “bueno” or “Si”.

I will be here until Saturday morning, then off to San Salvador, El Salvador.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2011 in Guatemala, Learning bout Tab!, summer, Travel

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “One way.

  1. al

    June 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    yaaaaaaay tabs 🙂

     
  2. Atira

    June 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Tabitha – you continue to teach me more than I ever thought I needed to know. Keep posting – I love the way you tell a story.

     
  3. sistaoutsider

    June 21, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Glad everything worked out!

     
  4. Juans

    June 21, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    oh dear i love you. please keep updating so i can travel w you. 🙂

     
  5. Tasha

    June 21, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    How ironic- I said I couldn’t do that and looks like you couldn’t either.

     
  6. SgMe

    June 22, 2011 at 1:22 am

    sorry that they gave u a hassle at the airport :/ I’m glad everything worked out for u in the end and u it a chance to go…. enjoy your travel!!

     
  7. Katrina

    June 22, 2011 at 5:15 am

    I hope you’re having a wonderful trip! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
